DePaul University DeBlogs > Willy Subach > About Me

Willy Subach

Although I wish I were Leslie Knope, unfortunately I’m not. Luckily, I’m the next best thing: Willy Subach. I’m a junior in the Honors Program and will be graduating in 2017 with a bachelor’s in Spanish and a master’s in International Studies (shout-out to whoever came up with the idea for the 5-year BA/MA program).

I was born in Madison, Wisconsin, but grew up 10 minutes away from Madison in the suburb of Oregon, also known as the Horse Capital of Wisconsin (but you probably already knew that). Coming from the bustling metropolis of Oregon (population: 9,231), I figured Chicago would be a natural fit for me. Besides some occasional cheese withdrawals and difficulties finding corn mazes in the fall, I’ve come to feel at home in Chicago, which is partly now why I’ve decided to remain at DePaul to pursue my master’s.

In the fall of 2014, I spent the quarter in Madrid, Spain through DePaul’s Study Abroad Program. During those three months, I became much more fluent in Spanish, but more importantly, I got on a first name basis with the cashier at the bakery near my homestay, an event in my life which now ranks as one of my proudest achievements.

When I’m not in class or at work, I usually spend my time eating, watching Netflix, and hitting the “random article” button on Wikipedia in an attempt to evade homework. I am a proud and shameless bargain hunter and I wish I had the motivation to become an extreme couponer.

DePaul and Chicago offer so many opportunities that it can be overwhelming at times. My goal is to try to encourage you to take advantage of everything you can and make the best of your time here. With my often food-related suggestions and your U-pass, the possibilities are endless.​

​​​​​