Ribbon - The ribbon is the section at the top when you are logged in and editing a page that displays the editing options. It contains the Site Actions dropdown menu and the Browse, Page, Publish, Format Text and Insert tabs.
- A set of pages. Subsites
create structure for pages and provide a landing page so you can organize your page content underneath it. Any page in your site that ends in /Pages/default.aspx
is a subsite. Most subsites have related pages underneath them. If you need a new subsite created within your site, first take a moment to analyze the effectiveness and strategy behind the new subsite and then put in a ticket through TSC
Viewer - The permission level that allows a user to log in with their Campus Connect username and password to view pages that are under authentication or otherwise not viewable to the public.
- The permission level that allows a user to log in with their Campus Connect username and password to edit pages and submit them to be published by starting a workflow that is then approved by an Approver. (Some users are Editors and Approvers.)
- The permission level that allows a user to log in with their Campus Connect username and password to edit pages and approve pages for publishing through workflow. (Some users are Editors and Approvers.)
Workflow - The process you go through to publish a page. The page is first submitted for approval by starting the workflow and is then approved and published.
Checked Out - When you edit a page, you are checking it out to yourself, like you would with a library book. When you edit a page, you have checked it out, so you will see in the yellow bar underneath the ribbon the words "Checked out and editable." When someone else has a page checked out to them, you will see in the yellow bar underneath the ribbon the words "You are viewing a draft (checked in) version of this page, but this page is also being edited and is checked out exclusively to [name]." Learn more about editing and checked out pages.
Checked In - When a page is not checked out to anyone it will say "Checked in and viewable by authorized users." After you are done editing a page, in order to save your changes, you must Save & Close the page; however, you also have to check the page back in by clicking Check In. If you do not Check In the page, no one else can edit it or see what changes you have made. Learn more about the editing process and about saving and checking in pages.
- Publishing a page means that it will be live to the world, and any changes you have made are also live. Publishing requires you to start a Workflow by going to the Publish tab, clicking "Submit" and then approving the submission. Learn more about submitting and publishing pages.
Site Actions - The menu at the top left corner that appears when you are logged in that allows you to show and hide the ribbon, edit a page, add a new page, and go to the View All Site Content and Manage Content and Structure views.
View All Site Content - The view that shows you the images, documents and pages libraries of the sub-site you are currently in. Here you can preload multiple documents or images to your libraries for use in its pages.
Manage Content and Structure - The view that shows you the structure of your site and its subsites, pages, and libraries. Here you can use the yellow View menu to see the pages that are checked out to you as well as pages that are pending approval and more.
Web Part - Also called a widget, a web part enables you to easily and readily modify content appearance, functionality and behavior on a page. See the various web parts and how they work in our web parts section.