DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > College of Law faculty and staff honored

College of Law faculty, staff and students honored at 2018 commencement

Law commencement
Faculty, staff and students received awards during the 2018 College of Law commencement ceremony in May. (DePaul University/Jamie Moncrief)
During the 2018 commencement ceremony, the DePaul College of Law presented faculty, staff and students with individual achievement awards for their outstanding work this year. 

Professors Allen Moye and Bruce Ottley were presented with Faculty Teaching Awards. Moye made a special teaching contribution to the Chicago police officers learning in the Master of Jurisprudence in criminal law program at the police academy. Throughout the course, Moye introduced the foundations of law and legal practice in ways that make them better officers.

Ottley has taught many of the students passing through the law school over the last 40 years, including last year's entire first-year class of 240 students.

"He expresses care for students and their learning, and he makes great effort to ensure no student falls behind," said Jennifer Rosato Perea, dean for the College of Law, when presenting Ottley's award.

Professor Wendy Netter Epstein received the Faculty Scholarship Award for being a rising star in the field of health law. Epstein has been featured in numerous academic journals and speaks at conferences all over the country. She also is a teacher in and director of DePaul's Jaharis Health Law Institute.

Margit Livingston received this year's Faculty Achievement Award. As associate dean of Research and Faculty Professional Development for the past four years, Livingston has helped her colleagues reach their full potential. Rosato Perea noted this award was given in the spirit of recently deceased Professor emeritus Barb Bressler, past faculty marshal and faculty achievement award recipient.

"Professor Livingston is the embodiment of someone who gives all of herself to her students, to her academic passions and to her colleagues," Rosato Perea said during the ceremony.

Allison Ortlieb, a senior profession lecturer, earned the Faculty Service Award. Over the last year, Ortlieb has taken on the role of associate dean of Academic Operations.

Steve Rudolph, the executive director of the International Aviation Law Institute, received the Staff Service Award for his support of Law Career Services, the Academic Success Program and Student Services. Rudolph, who championed the aviation program throughout 2017, will retire later this year.

As a token of appreciation for the efforts they made to improve their communities, the College of Law recognized four outstanding graduates with the Senior Service Award: Nolan Downey, Kathryn Green, Ed O'Neill and Arielle Williams. Each made substantial contributions to the College of Law community during their time at DePaul. These students made extraordinary commitments outside of the classroom, including holding leadership positions in student organizations and participating in extensive service.