DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > SNL annual awards celebrate excellence and achievement

SNL annual awards celebrate excellence and achievement

SNL awards
The School for New Learning presented a range of honors to undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, staff and alumni at its annual awards luncheon. (Image courtesy of Amedd Little)
On Saturday, June 2, the School for New Learning presented a range of honors to undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, staff and alumni at its annual awards luncheon held at the DePaul Club, Loop Campus. A culminating event for DePaul's adult learners, the ceremony celebrates SNL's graduates both near and far.

"At the end of the event, my family and I walked away with a sense of joy and happiness," says Ricardo Guerrero, an online student in SNL who traveled from Texas with his family to be featured in the Adult Writing Showcase. "My family is very proud of me as I continue my journey through DePaul's SNL program, and I know that I take solid steps as my professors are walking with me."
SNL awards
Students, faculty, staff and alumni gathered at the School for New Learning's annual awards luncheon to celebrate SNL's graduates both near and far. (Image courtesy of Amedd Little)

SNL presented Awards of Excellence to graduate students: Abigail Baker, Jocelyn Ochonick, Milton Rodriguez, Jeanne Towns, Jessica Vanek and Robert Wood. Undergraduate students Kenneth Coe, Jing Guo, Evelina Leon, Karen Ok, Jose Rodriguez, Daniel C. Spayer, Adrienne Stone, Sophie Weber and Barbara Young also received Awards of Excellence. Undergraduate students Ricardo Guerrero, Jing Guo, Particia Hernandez, Adrienne Stone and Caleb Wilson were honored for their works featured in the School's Adult Writing Showcase.

SNL named Alumnus Maxwell C. Little, MEd (B.A. in Leadership Studies, '12) as the 2018 recipient of the David O. Justice Award. Named for the late former dean of SNL, the award recognizes Little's significant achievements after graduation that embody the school's values of learning, social justice, community and excellence.

Two SNL faculty members received Lifelong Learning Awards: Janise Hurtig, adjunct faculty, and Fred Wellisch, SNL resident faculty. The award recognizes their love of learning, creativity and vitality in teaching, as well as contributions to community building and social justice.

The school awarded undergraduate Kevin Griffin with its Weinberg Memorial Prize in recognition of his scholarly demonstration of the values and commitments of the late Arthur and Lila Weinberg, social historians and DePaul adjunct faculty. Griffin's winning project focuses on juvenile crime and the unemployment rate of Chicago's African-American male youth.

Norma Barakat, SNL advising coordinator, received the 2018 Staff Appreciation Award for her extraordinary work in improving advising and registration operations, while exhibiting the school's values of lifelong learning and Vincentian personalism.

"Why do societies give awards?" asked Interim Dean Corinne Benedetto at the event. "Awards recognize not only what community members do, but also their outstanding contributions. Awards inspire us all to strive for excellence, and this is good for society as a whole."

The School for New Learning offers professional undergraduate and graduate degrees as well as certificates that are recognized for their high quality and applicability in an ever-changing professional world. Its programs build upon and advance the knowledge and abilities of adults to promote their personal growth and career advancement. The school is designed to offer personalized guidance, credit for prior learning, and new learning opportunities that meet the schedules and demands of busy adult lives.