DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > DePaul students to receive MAP awards

DePaul students to receive MAP awards

Students at commencement
Nearly 4,500 students at DePaul rely on MAP grants to complete their education. (DePaul University/Jamie Moncrief)
As a result of Illinois lawmakers passing a budget on July 6, DePaul University students will receive funding for Monetary Award Program grants for the 2016-17 fiscal year, with a small increase for the 2017-18 fiscal year.

"On behalf of the university community, we express our gratitude to the state of Illinois for approving a budget that fully funds MAP grants," says A. Gabriel Esteban, Ph.D., president of DePaul University. "For nearly 4,500 DePaul students who rely on MAP, the financial uncertainty has been lifted, and they have one less obstacle to overcome as they continue their studies."

MAP is a financial aid program administered by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission. It provides taxpayer-funded grants to students who attend college in Illinois. Low- and middle-income students who attend community college, public or private universities in Illinois, including DePaul, may qualify for MAP awards. Each year, approximately 130,000 students in Illinois receive a total of more than $370 million in MAP grants.

The DePaul community has been advocating actively for MAP grants throughout the state's two-year budget stalemate.

"I am very impressed with the leadership of DePaul's students, especially the Student Government Association, who spearheaded our advocacy in support of MAP. I also am grateful for the leadership of Fr. Holtschneider, who made funding MAP grants a high priority these past years," Dr. Esteban says. "The hard work of our students, faculty and staff helped our state leaders understand the urgency and importance of the program. The DePaul community lifted its voice on behalf of every student in Illinois who depends upon MAP. I am very proud to stand with and support these students and the entire university community."