DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > University celebrates 120th academic year at convocation

University celebrates 120th academic year at convocation

DePaul leadership at convocation 2017
Jeff Bethke (left), executive vice president; A. Gabriel Esteban, Ph.D., president; and Marten denBoer, provost, celebrate the start of DePaul's 120th academic year at convocation on Aug. 31. (DePaul University/Jamie Moncrief)
DePaul University celebrated its 120th academic year at the annual academic convocation on Aug. 31 at the St. Vincent de Paul Parish in Lincoln Park. Provost Marten denBoer shared opening remarks with the university community. President A. Gabriel Esteban, Ph.D., offered closing remarks at the end of the ceremony. 

As an event that brings together members of the university community, convocation seeks to recognize and celebrate the different, yet equally essential contributions we all make to DePaul. During the ceremony, the university honored 42 faculty members who recently received promotion and tenure. The university also recognized dozens of faculty and staff members with academic and service awards. This year's awardees include:

St. Vincent de Paul Professors
  • Jocelyn Smith Carter
  • Horace R. Hall
  • Bernadette Sanchez
Excellence in Teaching
  • Coya Paz Browning
  • Jeff Carter
  • Sumi Cho
  • Julie DeRoche
  • Sanjay Deshumkh
  • Wendy Epstein
  • Richard Farkas
  • Susan Fischer
  • Peter Forster
  • Jonathan Gemmell
  • Horace R. Hall
  • Lin Batsheva Kahn
  • Xing (Lucy) Lu
  • Amy Merrick
  • Deborah Peot
  • Alyssa Westring
Spirit on Inquiry
  • Blair Davis
  • Daniel Morales
  • Terry Smith
Excellence in Public Service
  • Patty Gerstenblith
Spirit of DePaul
  • Fran Cebrzynski
  • Darren S. Davis
  • Frida Kerner Furman
  • Thomas Judge
  • Teresa A. Skwarek
Staff Quality Service
  • Jennifer Burke
  • Jessica Holler
  • Todd Kleine
  • Morgen MacIntosh-Hodgetts
  • Heather Sevener
Gerald Paetsch Academic Advising Award
  • Phyllis Bailey
  • Jaclyn Hugg
  • Theresa Luhrs
  • Kelly Tzoumis
  • Phil Verpil