DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > DePaul community members across the institution achieve notable accomplishments

DePaul community members across the institution achieve notable accomplishments

DIBS giving a thumbs up
(DePaul University/Jeff Carrion)

Several DePaul community members were recently recognized for their contributions to their communities, profession or cause. Read on to learn more about their accomplishments.

  • Kathleen Beckman, a student in the master’s in education program and the education and youth program director for Facets in Chicago, was recently asked by the Malta Film Commission​ to guide the development of their new youth programs and delivered their keynote address at the Mediterrane Film Festival on Tuesday, June 27. You can see her speech here. Beckman has been teaching film media education and film to youth for over 25 years and is a leading expert in media education and teaching/delivering film education.​
  • DePaul graduate Kellen Brown was recently named the 2023 International Balfour Award Winner by the Sigma Chi fraternity. The award has been given annually since 1930 and is awarded to Sigma Chi’s most outstanding graduating senior. Brown will now serve for two years on the fraternity’s executive committee where he will advocate for undergraduates.
  • The community psychology program at DePaul received three awards at the biennial conference of the Society for Community Research and Action Division 27 of the American Psychological Association in late June:
    • Olya Glantsman, program director of the community psychology MS program and senior professional lecturer, received the Outstanding Educator Award.
    • The undergraduate concentration in community psychology program received the Award for Excellence in Education Programs.
    • Introduction to Community Psychology: Becoming an Agent of Change” received the Don Klein Publication Award to Advance Community Psychology Practice.
  • Martine Kei Green-Rogers, dean of The Theatre School, was named president-elect of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education. She was voted in as president-elect by association members and will serve in the role until 2025, when she assumes the presidency of the association until 2027. Green-Rogers was interviewed about her role​ in the Sept. 7 edition of American Theatre Magazine. The ATHE was founded in 1986 and is a nonprofit advocate for the​ field of theatre and performance in higher education.
  • Coya Paz, associate professor and dean for curriculum and instruction in The Theatre School, was recently honored with the 2023 Innovations in Institutional Leadership Award by the Association for Theatre in Higher Education. The award honors an individual or theatre company that has demonstrated sustained commitment and a significant impact in the field for a minimum of ten years. Paz was recognized for her leadership in community-based theatre and civic engagement during the group’s national conference in Austin, Texas on August 4. 
  • Joe Pilewski, adjunct instructor in the Department of Economics in the Driehaus College of Business was recently appointed to the board of directors of Manufacturing Renaissance.  
​​For over 15 years Manufacturing Renaissance, a non-profit organization, has provided certified manufacturing training to Chicago Public High School students in the Austin neighborhood on the west side of Chicago. Pilewski has more than 30 years of experience as a financial advisor to the public, corporate and nonprofit sectors. Read more about Joe and his appointment to the board here.