DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > Adjunct Task Force Holds First Meeting

Adjunct Task Force Holds First Meeting

Adjunct Task Force
Adjunct Task Force members: Front row (l-r): Veronica Buckley, Kathryn Flum, Noelle Thomas, Mary Mindak, Curt Hansman; Back row (l-r): John Culbert, Vladimir Lepetic, Bamshad Mobasher, Nathan DeWitt, Daniel Lindsey, Gerry Koocher, Lasana Kazembe, Neal Heitz; Not pictured: Erin MacKenna and William Zink (DePaul University/Jamie Moncrief)
As part of the 10 initiatives to enhance adjunct faculty work life announced by Provost Marten denBoer, the new Adjunct Task Force had its first meeting on Wednesday, April 27.

The Task Force membership includes 11 adjunct faculty, two Faculty Council members, a representative from Academic Affairs and one dean.

"Rather than the university imposing a structure, the Task Force will propose what type of permanent group eventually will represent their interests," says Provost Marten denBoer.

Within months, the Task Force will propose recommendations related to its charge:

  • Design a permanent structure through which part-time faculty can voice and resolve workplace concerns.
  • Identify ways to deepen involvement of part-time faculty in the life of their departments.
  • Propose ways to pay adjunct faculty for service beyond their teaching responsibilities.