DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > Celebrating our faculty for notable accomplishments

Celebrating our faculty for notable accomplishments

​​Dibs gives two thumbs up
(Photo by Jeff Carrion/DePaul University)
Several DePaul faculty members were recently recognized for contributions to their communities, profession or cause. Read on to learn more about their accomplishments. 

  • ​African and Black Diaspora Studies and Social Transformation Research Collaborative Postdoctoral Fellow Taurean J. Webb has been inducted into the 38th Martin Luther King Jr. College of Ministers & Laity’s Collegium of Scholars. The collegium was founded at Morehouse College in 1985 and honors academics, writers, researchers, educators and mentors dedicated to promoting social responsibility, civil rights and human rights. Webb was inducted during a ceremony on April 11, 2024, at Morehouse College.
  • Former Dean Jennifer Rosato-Perea was honored with a 2024 Vanguard Award from the Chicago Bar Association. The award honors individuals and institutions who have made the law and legal profession more accessible and reflective of the community at large. She, along with other honorees, was celebrated at a luncheon on May 14, 2024. 
  • Professors David Williams (Political Science) and Matthew Maguire (History, Catholic Studies) edited a new book that was published on February 22, 2024, by Cambridge University Press. The book, titled “The Cambridge Companion to Rousseau's Social Contract,” provides new ways to navigate Rousseau’s foundational political philosophy text. 
  • Professor Francesca Royster (English)’s 2023 book, “Black Country Music,” has received the 2023 Judy Tsou Critical Race Studies Award from the American Musicological Society. This is Royster’s second AMS award in three years, as she was also named the co-recipient of the Ruth A. Solie Award in 2021 for her editorial work on “Uncharted Country: New Voices and Perspectives in Country Music Studies” in the Journal of Popular Music Studies. “Black Country Music” also won the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's 2023 Ralph J. Gleason Music Book Award. 
  • Associate Professor Rachel Shteir (Head of Dramaturgy, The Theatre School)'s “Betty Friedan: Magnificent Disruptor” (Yale University Press) earned a finalist spot for Best Biography in the 2023 National Book Critics Circle Awards.  
  • Associate Professor Stefan Mitsch (CDM, School of Computing) received a $50,000 award for the period of April 15, 2024, to March 31, 2025, from the National Science Foundation to work on a project called SafeRails. The SafeRails technology is a verified train protection system that helps to ensure high levels of safety and reliability.  
  • Affiliate Clinical Assistant Professor of psychology Julie Brosnan was awarded a $270,000 grant from the Community Mental Health Board of Oak Park Township for The Mindfulness Matters Project: Strengthening Youth Development through Evidence-based Practices. The grant lasts from April 1, 2024, to March 31, 2025, and allows DePaul to continue addressing the mental health needs of middle school-aged students and their families. This work strengthens the caregiving system by supporting students and families at two middle schools in Oak Park District 97. ​​