DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > Workplace Environment Committee for Adjunct Faculty takes shape for 2018-19

Workplace Environment Committee for Adjunct Faculty takes shape for 2018-19

Workplace Environment Committee members. Top row (l-r): Vladimir Lepetic, Brett Taylor, Michael Lewanski, Mark Zlotkowski, Nathan DeWitt, Paul Winters, Lucy Rinehart. Bottom row (l-r): Bob Palmieri, Liliana Fargo, Jack Magaw, Murat Kahveci, Nancy LaFever, Heather Little, Paul Kessenich. Not pictured: Alexander Brown and Peggy St. John (DePaul University/Jamie Moncrief)
After the conclusion of elections, the Workplace Environment Committee has begun its work for the 2018-19 academic year.

The WEC is charged with hearing, reporting and suggesting resolutions for issues affecting adjunct faculty members.  In fulfilling this charge, it creates an avenue to discuss and brainstorm ideas, communicate and share information across colleges, and provide advice and recommendations to the provost and Academic Affairs. The committee can put forth ideas on any workplace issues except for those pertaining to academic policy and governance, which fall under the purview of Faculty Council and its Committee on Contingent Faculty.​

The eight newly elected adjunct faculty representatives were among 13 eligible adjunct faculty members who nominated themselves to serve on the WEC. Elections were not conducted in colleges with unopposed candidates. In colleges with elections, adjunct faculty members teaching or scheduled to teach (as of the first day of Autumn Quarter) in the 2018-19 academic year were eligible to vote for the nominees from their college or school.

“Since the WEC’s creation two years ago, I have admired the dedication its members show to their duties at DePaul—both in the classroom and in service to their colleagues.  I look forward to working with the newly constituted WEC and continuing our partnership to enhance and enrich the adjunct faculty experience at DePaul,” says Acting Provost Salma Ghanem.

All members of the 2018-19 WEC are listed below. Adjunct faculty representative are eligible to serve the length of the entire term provided they teach or are scheduled to teach at least one course during each academic year of their term. Visit the Adjunct Resources website​ to read profiles of the members. 

WEC adjunct faculty representatives starting two-year terms

Alexander Brown, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (will finish the one-year term of a WEC member who stepped off the committee)
Liliana Fargo, Driehaus College of Business
Nancy LaFever, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
Vladimir Lepetic, College of Science and Health (second term)
Heather Little, College of Education
Bob Palmieri, School of Music
Peggy St. John, School for New Learning (second term)
Brett Taylor, College of Communication

Continuing WEC faculty representatives (serving second year of two-year term)

Nathan DeWitt, College of Computing and Digital Media
Murat Kahveci, College of Science and Health
Paul Kessenich, Driehaus College of Business
Jack Magaw, The Theatre School
Paul Winters, College of Law
Mark Zlotkowski, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

 Ex-officio WEC members

Michael Lewanski, chair, Faculty Council’s committee on Contingent Faculty
Lucy Rinehart, associate provost for academic programs and faculty