DePaul University Newsline > Sections > Campus and Community > University names Excellence in Public Service award honorees

University names Excellence in Public Service award honorees

Public Service Excellence award
Kathleen Arnold and Joshua Sarnoff are honorees of this year's Excellence in Public Service Award.
DePaul's specific commitment to service is a distinctive characteristic of the university.​ The Excellence in Public Service Award honors the meaningful and significant contributions of faculty during their time at DePaul to the communities in which they are involved. 

As a community, we benefit from the efforts of our members. This award is a way of showing gratitude, appreciation and support for the gifts of our faculty. Examples of service may include activities that benefit either the DePaul community or another community such as donating time over a period of years; technical activities, such as pro bono legal counsel; or services related to or outside a faculty's field of expertise, such as tutoring or coaching an athletic team. Congratulations to this year's award honorees:

  • ​Kathleen Arnold, senior professional lecturer in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences and director of the Refugee and Forced Migration Studies program
  • Joshua Sarnoff, professor in the College of Law​​​​​​​​
Awards will be conferred in the fall in conjunction with Academic Convocation.  

Read about other 2022 award honorees, including Provost's Award for Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion;​​ Spirit of Inquiry; Staff Quality Service Award and Spirit of DePaul winners.