DePaul University Newsline > Sections > DeBuzz > Congratulations to the 2021 Convocation award honorees

Congratulations to the 2021 Convocation award honorees

Convocation 2021
Faculty and staff proceed into St. Vincent de Paul Parish Church on Sept. 2 for the 2021 Academic Convocation to celebration the start of a new academic year. (DePaul University/Randall Spriggs)
Each year, DePaul honors faculty and staff across the university for their dedication to academia and the campus community. This year, 50 members of the DePaul community received recognition at the Academic Convocation ceremony on Sept. 2.

This fall the university presented the inaugural Provost’s Award for Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion to two faculty members, Valerie Johnson and Anne Saw.

"We created this new award to increase the visibility of DEI work on campus, as well as to emphasize its importance and value," said Salma Ghanem, provost, during the morning's ceremony. "Moving forward, this award will be conferred annually to recognize faculty members who are making significant contributions to ensure DePaul is a diverse, welcoming and inclusive campus."

Congratulations to all of this year's award winners:

Via Sapientiae Award

  • John Culbert, dean and professor, The Theatre School
  • Cathy May (posthumous), senior professional lecturer, Department of Political Science
  • John McEnroe, Deloitte Distinguished Professor, School of Accountancy & MIS
  • Kenneth Sarubbi, associate professor, Department of Teacher Education
  • Margaret Silliker, chair and professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Simone Zurawski, associate professor, History of Art and Architecture program

Excellence in Teaching

  • Rob Adler, assistant professor, The Theatre School
  • Windsor Aguirre, associate professor, Department of Biological Sciences 
  • Jay Baglia, associate professor, College of Communication
  • Shawn Bailey, adjunct faculty member, Department of Environmental Science and Studies
  • Monu Bedi, professor, College of Law
  • Graham Griffin, assistant professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry 
  • Michael Green, percussion coordinator, School of Music
  • Wayne Gruadjunct faculty member, College of Communication
  • Dana Hall, director of Jazz Studies, School of Music
  • Anna Hozian, assistant professor, School of Cinematic Arts
  • Azar Kazemi, adjunct faculty member, The Theatre School
  • Rebecca Michel, associate professor, Department of Counseling and Special Education
  • Anne Mitchell, professional lecturer, Departments of Women’s & Gender Studies and African Black Diaspora Studies
  • Cricel Molina de Mesa, teaching associate professor, Department of Health Sciences
  • E. Mauricio Pineda, adjunct faculty member, Peace, Justice and Conflict Studies program
  • Filipo Sharevski, assistant professor, School of Computing
  • Jose Soltero de la Riva, associate professor, Department of Sociology
  • Mark Turcotte, senior professional lecturer, Department of English
  • April Wilkins, adjunct faculty member, School of Design 

Spirit of Inquiry Award

  • Kathleen Arnold, senior professional lecturer, Department of Political Science 
  • Emily Cauble, professor, College of Law
  • Miles Harvey, professor, Department of English
  • Susan Dvorak McMahon, associate dean for research and Vincent de Paul Professor of Clinical and Community Psychology, Department of Psychology
  • Ruben Parra, professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Daniel Schober, assistant professor, Public Health program

Excellence in Public Service

  • Stan Chu llo, associate professor, Department of Catholic Studies

Provost Award for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

  • Valerie Johnson, associate professor, Department of Political Science 
  • Anne (Annie) Saw, associate professor, Department of Psychology

Spirit of DePaul Awards

  • Gian Mario Besana, associate provost for Global Engagement and Online Learning; professor, School of Computing
  • Andy Clark, senior instructor, Driehaus College of Business
  • Randall Honold, assistant dean of academic services, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
  • Cheryl Hover, assistant director of emergency management, Public Safety        
  • Anthony McGeath, administrative assistant, University Counseling Services
  • Quinetta Shelby, chair and associate professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Shannon Suffoletto, director, Office of Health Promotion and Wellness

Staff Quality Service Award.

  • Dominique Brown, program manager, Study Abroad program
  • Alexis Burson, humanities and social sciences librarian, DePaul University Library
  • Megan Hoinkes, assistant director, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Brent Nunn, assistant director, First-Year Program
  • Susanna Pagliaro, executive assistant dean and chief of staff, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Gerald Paetsch Academic Advising Awards

  • Lindsey Burdick, ​associate director of pre-health advising, College of Science and Health
  • ​Tania Rodriguez, director of student academic services, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
  • ​Eric Schwabe, associate professor, School of Computing
  • ​Janet Sung, associate professor of violin and strings coordinator, School of Music​

​Looking for information about this year's tenured and promoted faculty? Read about them in Newsline.

Rachel Wojnicki is an editor of Newsline and the internal communications manager in University Marketing and Communications.