DePaul University Newsline > Sections > DeBuzz > Elizabeth Murphy earns Lifetime Achievement Award

Elizabeth Murphy earns Lifetime Achievement Award


Fall campus
(DePaul University/Jeff Carrion)
​​The Illinois CPA Society has awarded DePaul's Elizabeth A. Murphy with its prestigious 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award. Murphy is a professor emerita in the School of Accountancy. 

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor ICPAS bestows on a member who has demonstrated distinguished service to both the Illinois CPA Society and the CPA profession.

Before taking emerita status in 2019, Murphy taught introductory, intermediate and advanced financial accounting courses at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, including governmental and nonprofit accounting. She has spent more than 40 years fostering future professionals through formal teaching, workshops and mentoring. 

Founded in 1903, the Illinois CPA Society is one of the largest state CPA societies in the nation, with more than 23,300 members.​