SharePoint Responsive > Basics > Basic SharePoint Terms
Approver - The permission level that allows a user to log in with their Campus Connect username and password to edit pages and approve pages for publishing through workflow. (Some users are Editors and Approvers.)
Checked In - When
a page is not checked out to anyone it will say "Checked in and
viewable by authorized users." After you are done editing a page, in
save your changes, you must Save & Close the page; however, you
also have to check the page back in by clicking Check In. If you do not
Check In the page, no one else can edit it or see what changes you have
made. Learn more about the editing process and about saving and checking in pages.
Checked Out - When you edit a page, you are checking it out to yourself, like you would with a library book.
When you edit a page, you have checked it out, so you will see in
the yellow bar underneath the ribbon the words "Checked out and
editable." When someone else has a page checked out to them, you will
see in the yellow bar underneath the ribbon the words "You are viewing a
draft (checked in) version of this page, but this page is also being
edited and is checked out exclusively to [name]." Learn more about editing and checked out pages.
Content and Structure - The view that
shows you the structure of your site and its subsites, pages, and
libraries. Here you can use the yellow View menu to see the pages that
are checked out to you as well as pages that are pending approval and
Editor - The permission level that
allows a user to log in with their Campus Connect username and password
to edit pages and submit them to be published by starting a workflow that is then approved by an Approver. (Some users are Editors and Approvers.)
Page - Pages are where you put content within your site. Sites and subsites are made up of pages. See our guide on how to add a new page.
Published - Publishing a page means
that it will be live to the world, and any changes you have made are
also live. Publishing requires you to start a Workflow by going to the
Publish tab, clicking "Submit" and then approving the submission. Learn
more about submitting and publishing pages.
Ribbon - The ribbon is the section at the top when you are logged in and editing a page that displays the editing options. It contains the Site Actions dropdown menu and the Browse, Page, Publish, Format Text and Insert tabs.
Settings Menu - The menu at the top that looks like a gear. It appears when you are logged in and allows you to show and hide the ribbon, edit a page, add a new page, and go to the Site Contents and the Content and Structure views.
Site Contents - The view that shows
you the images, documents and pages libraries of the sub-site you are
currently in. Here you can preload multiple documents or images to your
libraries for use in its pages.
Subsite - A set of pages. Subsites create structure for pages and provide a landing page so you can organize your page content underneath it. Any page in your site that ends in /Pages/default.aspx is a subsite. Most subsites have related pages underneath them. If you need a new subsite created within your site, first take a moment to analyze the effectiveness and strategy behind the new subsite and then contact the Help Desk.
Web Part - Also called a widget, a web
part enables you to easily and readily modify content appearance,
functionality and behavior on a page. See the various web parts and how
they work in our web parts section.
Workflow - The process you go through to publish a page. The page is first submitted for approval by starting the workflow and is then approved and published.