Zoom meetings can be recorded and saved to be shared after they occur. Hosts can choose to save a meeting to
Zoom cloud storage or
to their computer. All Zoom recordings will be saved for 120 days in the cloud.
Choose Recording Options
- Recording a Zoom meeting to the cloud will save the meeting to Zoom’s cloud storage. This is the preferred option for sharing the recording because it allows users to access the recording through a link. The recording file can be downloaded to a computer or streamed from a browser. See
Adding a Zoom Link for instructions on sharing Zoom recordings.
-
When a Zoom meeting is saved locally to a computer, it will save in .mp4 format in a folder titled “Zoom” within the Documents folder on the computer. To share a recording that has been saved locally, the file will need to be uploaded to a course.
Recording a Zoom Meeting
- Create a Zoom meeting (See
Creating a Zoom Meeting for more details).
- At the beginning of the meeting, or whenever the recording should start, select
More
[A], and choose
Record [B].

- Select the option where the recording should go:
-
Record to this computer will save the recording to the user's computer in the "Zoom" folder as an .mp4 file.
-
Record to the cloud will save the recording to Zoom's cloud storage, making it easy to share the recording via link in D2L.
Note: Students do not have access to record to the cloud. However, they can record Zoom meetings using the directions for
Recording to a Computer
- At any point during the meeting, recording can be paused by selecting the
Pause button, or stopped using the
Stop button .

Disable a Passcode for Existing Cloud Recordings
If a meeting has already been recorded to the cloud, by default it will be set with a passcode. Sharing the recording through Zoom as an
external learning tool will allow students in a course to view all recordings, so the passcode does not need to be disabled unless it is preferred.
Note: Class recordings should be shared ONLY via D2L for FERPA compliance.
- Sign in to
depaul.zoom.us.
- Select
Recordings.
- The “Cloud Recordings” tab will open. Locate the recording from the list.

- Select the three dots next to the recording title [A].
- Select
Share [B]. Another window opens.

- Select the gear icon in the upper right corner of this small window to access the meeting settings.
- Uncheck the Passcode box [A], and click
Save [B].